Fall 2013 Anime – Coppelion: Hopefully Won’t Be Canceled Again…

From Left to Right: Taeko Nomura, Aoi Fukasaku, and Ibara Naruse.

From Left to Right: Taeko Nomura, Aoi Fukasaku, and Ibara Naruse.

Even though I decided against doing a full-blown preview list for this coming Fall 2013 season, I thought I would at least touch upon a few anime titles I am looking forward to. Coppelion is actually one I have been looking forward to since Fall 2010, but due to the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear disaster it was preemptively canceled. Despite having zero expectations for this title, I am excited to once again see it will be on the docket for this season – even though that the Fukushima Daiichi crisis is beginning to make some headlines of recently. Please do not let it be canceled again!

I highly doubt that Coppelion will become one of the more controversial titles of the season even in the face of Japan’s nuclear mishap – but it might be one of the more stimulating if not unsettling for what it possible bring to the table. After having quickly run through the gist of the stories synopsis it even sounds like a dead-wringer visualization for the Fukushima Daiichi incident; a visualization that surprisingly was not enough to keep it off the rails from being aired. Although, since I never read the manga or exactly abreast on any of the finer details, it may not have that much questionable or personally offensive content as I assume – in which case, I hope I am right.

In any case, I do like the sound of the idea with the SDF’s 3 man – well, girl unit called Coppelion searching for survivors in a nuclear contaminated Tokyo. The PV linked above (which is about as recent as it gets) doesn’t actually attest to that or anything much, but the team consist of: Ibara Naruse (one predominately featured at the end), Aoi Fukasaku, and Taeko Nomura – each of which are genetic engineered to withstand the radiation and posses special skills. Simple enough, but with manga spanning about 18+ volumes, there is unquestionably more to it than the flavor text provides. If anything, I hope it is not as heartwrenching and tragic as Tokyo Magnitude 8.0. And for those that are voiced actor/actress obsessed – or pay close attention to such details, it should be relatively pleasing in that respect as well. GoHands is the animation studio and very nice to see them take on this project, since their animation style matches original artwork quite well. There best known for their work on Seitokai Yakuindomo and the anime, K that aired last year.

While there isn’t a definite date for this at the moment, October 2013 seems to the expected date this will hit the airwaves. With any luck and I pray, there will be little chance that a relatable circumstance will cause this to be shelved again. If so, I doubt I will be at a serious loss of what to watch.

2 thoughts on “Fall 2013 Anime – Coppelion: Hopefully Won’t Be Canceled Again…

  1. Pingback: Coppelion Trailer | The G-Empire

  2. Ahh, I do remember seeing that picture from sometime back, and I do remember thinking of checking it out or something. Nice to see that it’s back.

Leave a Reply

