Fall 2013 Anime – Kyoukai no Kanata – Those Glasses Are Amazing!

Kyoukai no Kanata10 more days! That is how close we are to the 2013 Fall lineup of new anime series and seems like with each passing day, I am always adding another series I promised myself I would wait and see about. After living through Summer’s nightmare of viewing 23 titles simultaneously, my hope is to at least scale it back to 12 or 15. Of course, when I hear the words “Kyoto Animation” and “spirit world” in the same passing, that is more than enough to peek my curiosity. Hopefully, Kyoukai no Kanata will be nothing short of interesting.

Synopsis: The dark fantasy follows a high school sophomore named Akihito Kanbara. Although the boy appears human, he is half youmu and invulnerable to wounds because he can heal quickly. One day, Akihito meets freshman Mirai Kuriyama when it seems she is about to jump from the school rooftop. Mirai is isolated because of her ability to manipulate blood, which is unique even among members of the spirit world. Disturbing events begin to unfold after Akihito saves Mirai.

Did I mention how I love the main heroine, Mirai Kuriyama’s over-sized red glasses? I might not be able to speak of the story with so little information given, but the visual style by way of the PV’s looks great and the promotional action sequences look very cool. It is certainly a farcry from KyoAni’s traditional work dealing with school-life and drama themed elements, so it is nice to see the studio picking up a project like this. You can catch Mirai and her over-sized glasses premiering on October 3rd.

5 thoughts on “Fall 2013 Anime – Kyoukai no Kanata – Those Glasses Are Amazing!

    • Dogged persistence. Most of the series I want to see air during the weekend, so that makes it easier on me since my weekends are light. Plus, it also helps that series like Sliver Spoon and Blood Lad ended early, so I don’t need to worry about them. It isn’t difficult as it sounds, you just need a small pocket of time and just do it. Reviewing them all is the hard part for me, lol. However, since I am close to graduation (next Spring or Fall), working on getting an internship, and dealing with my classes (which are highly time consuming), I won’t have the energy or time to spare for the upcoming season to watch everything I want to. In total, it would been same number, subtracting one or two.

  1. Having a megane feitish, aren’t we? :p

    The anime is in my priority list however, Kyo Ani and dark fantasy, definitely interested in how that turns out. That, and also Pupa, the two anime I prioritize in Fall. I see that there’s Blazblue anime too? Not sure how that would turns out, but not really looking forward to it.

    • Always had one :3

      Yeah, just seen the PV for Pupa and looking forward to it. As for Blazblue, I”ll take a crack at it, but seems like werid thing to try to turn into an anime. Although, guess if Street Fighter can why not, lol.

      • Hmm, indeed. Still, I’m unsure about anime adapted from games in general, lol. Haven’t seen a good one, except for Persona 4 at the very least. Blazblue is a good game, and I think I’m content with just the game :p Still brainstorming actually whether or not I want to add Devil Survivor 2 on my anime backlog or just to play the game too. SRPGs are dreadful to me though.

Leave a Reply

